Happy Birthday, Jim Henson!

Happy birthday to a fellow puppet lover, Jim Henson!

I was such a muppet fan as a kid– Sesame Street, Muppet Babies, Fraggle Rock. I clearly remember visiting an exhibit at the Children’s Museum in Indianapolis when I was really young and you were able to climb up and see what it was like to be inside the real suit for Junior Gorg (the big monster guy who was always trying to catch a Fraggle). The memory is so vivid– I remember being both completely fascinated and totally terrified.

I recently rewatched the “Jim Henson’s Storyteller” series on Netflix, which takes old European fables and retells them with humans and muppets. Its was really a pretty phenomenal show and I was quite sad to get to the last episode. I would definitely reccomend checking it out. I know you don’t believe me, but it’s not really a kid’s show. It’s wonderful.

And, there’s also a new exhibit at the Museum of Science and Industry about Jim Henson’s work, which I can’t wait to check out.

Also, did you know there’s a whole Muppet Wiki?! Amazing.

(A little write-up about Henson’s birthday on NPR today.)

Leave a Reply

