New Stamp Love

(Simpsons stamps in use, December 2009)

I ship the majority of my orders via First Class Mail, which means that I get to use stamps on all the packages I send out. This might not mean a lot to some of you, but I love it, because I love great stamps. I have to order most of them from the USPS website, since local post offices usually only carry the lowest common denominator designs (Flags and Liberty Bells? Snore.) My internet-scouring boyfriend, who knows my love of lovely postage, was nice enough to alert me to the new 2011 stamp designs that the post office announced just before the new year. Let’s explore the highlights, shall we?


Surprise, surprise that I would pick the design-y stamps as my favorite of the year, right? So I’m predictable. But I still love this “Pioneers of American Industrial Design” pane and you can be sure it’ll be showing up on my packages come July when it’s released.


I mean, who doesn’t love Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch in “To Kill a Mockingbird”? I’ll admit that I’m not sure I’ve actually seen him in anything else, but I’m always a sucker for an old moviestar stamp. And, as an Indiana girl, it’s tough not to pick the Indy 500 stamp as one of my favorites. I’m digging the retro, art deco vibe.

I almost always like artist series stamps, and these are no exception. Romare Bearden’s colors and shapes are just wonderful, and I’m sure I’ll be ordering some of these, too.

If your post office lacks selection like mine, be sure to check out the USPS online store to get just the stamps your heart desires.

Leave a Reply

