Sideboards and Hutches and Mid-century Modern Lovely, Oh My!

I’ve been daydreaming about furniture lately. This really isn’t anything unusual, except that my obsession has recently turned to two specific piece of mid century modern home furnishing: the hutch and the sideboard. Both are kind of dining room-y furniture, though I suppose sideboards are more versatile, but neither are pieces I do (or could) actually own– An apartment-dweller without a dining room needs no dining room furniture, you see. But our house-hunting adventures last year elicited dreams of 1960’s ranches and little bungalows, sweet little breakfast nooks and old-fashioned dining rooms (what a luxury!), and gave this girl the itch.

Below, a mid century modern visual feast, perfect eye-candy for those who, like me, dream of the day when they can make good on all that craigslist browsing and actually bring one of these beauties home.

Source

Source

Source

Source

Source

Source

Source

Source

2 thoughts on “Sideboards and Hutches and Mid-century Modern Lovely, Oh My!

  1. I might have to pin each and every one of those for my Mad Men style Pinterest pinboard – I’m trying to get my design solid before I expand the shop. I did get a long credenza, but it’s no match for that glass front beauty above.

Leave a Reply

