An Oscar Feast

I’m a little behind due to last week’s Sneak Peek Week craziness, and maybe it’s too late to really do an Oscars-related post, but I’m going to do one anyway. Normally on Sunday nights Ben and I play pub trivia with a friend of ours (Where we are awesome! Especially for a three person team.) We’re all pretty into the Oscars, though, so last Sunday we decided to have a Trivia Team field trip and hold an Academy Awards party at our place instead.

The food selections had to, of course, be Oscar-themed. I was thinking about it all week– Winter’s Bone-less chicken strips? Kings Speech Crab?– but I don’t eat meat, so I wasn’t exactly jumping up and down about those ideas. Eventually we decided on some fun options, though.

Clockwise from the top left you will find 127 Layer Bean Dip (which I intended to make myself but, well, didn’t.), Toy Story (3) Cheez-its, Dunkin Donuts Munchkins (in honor of The Fighter + The Town– I’ve never seen more Dunkin Donuts in one place than I’ve seen in Massachusetts. They love ’em out there), True Grits Polenta and Inception Cookies within Cookies.

I really believe that these cookies were the highlight of the evening (and I’m not just saying that because they were what I made). The idea of chocolate chip cookies with Oreos had been making the rounds around the internet, so I thought I’d give them a try (I used this recipe). Let me just say that I’m not a huge fan of either of these types of cookies (I know, I’m a weirdo), but they were good. And giant!

Ben had also spent the week before on the hunt for some Hop Slam beer which is apparently excellent (and 10% alcohol). After checking a couple of the fancy hipster liquor stores and finding them all sold out, he happened upon some at our tiny local corner place– go figure. Anyway, a couple of those helped the the party eventually outlast the Oscars and evolve into, well, this:

Good times were had by all.

Leave a Reply

