Vintage Photo Love: My Neighborhood

The past few Fridays I’ve been featuring selections from the Chicago Daily News photo archive from the early 20th century. Today’s post is probably most interesting to those who knew Chicago and know my neighborhood Pilsen, but I think imagining yourself in old neighborhood photos can be interesting no matter where they’re from. Below is what my neighborhood looked like nearly 100 years ago.

The church pictured above, St. Procopius, was originally Croatian but now holds services primarily in English and Spanish. It’s just around the corner from where I live now. You can see it’s steeple (and the abandoned convent that the church once ran) in this photo taken from my window–

Below is the corner where I catch the bus. It looks I would’ve caught that trolley back in 1923.

Halsted Street, also circa 1923, with more trolley tracks. Today you can just take the #8 bus.

Leave a Reply

