Wallpaper, then and now

When we went to see The King’s Speech a while back, I was totally distracted by the amazing deco wallpaper in Geoffrey Rush’s home. I guess I hadn’t thought about 30’s and 40’s homes as having walls like that, but the movie gave the middle class family home a really lovely touch. This blog post talks about the movie’s really gorgeous set design.

Source

And as great as those deco patterns are, there are also definitely 60s and 70s wallpaper trends I can get behind. I know wacky, hippie prints aren’t everybody’s cup of tea, but I’m often a fan.

Source

Source

Source

Source

And then there comes the 80s and 90s. In a recent episode of My So-Called Life I re-watched, Angela’s dad installs what I would consider really terrible floral wallpaper in their bedroom, and then his wife marvels at home pretty it is. I also remember being super supportive when my mom decided to do our kitchen in an ivy theme sometime in the early 90s. Remember how cool ivy was for a while there?

But after a decade or so very much on the “out” list, it seems like wallpaper has been making a comeback lately, and I for one an excited at all the interesting new things people are doing with it. Its amazing how much of a statement it can make, and how a wallpaper background can make everything against it really pop.

Source

Source

Source

Source

Source

What do you think? Should wallpaper still be considered “out” or do you like that its making a comeback?

Leave a Reply

