Summer of Craft

It’s hard for me to believe, but the summer craft fair season is right around the corner. While I can’t even imagine not wearing a cardigan every day, and the space heater is still not put away from the studio, here I am planning for events in sunny summer.

I’ve got a few big to do’s on my summer prep list I thought I’d share with you all. Partly because you might find it semi-interesting, and also because putting it out there means I’m more accountable to actually checking these things off my list.

1. Buy a tent.

Here I am from Rain-agade 2008, underneath the only “tent” I’ve ever actually bought. Its really a stretch to call that green thing with legs a tent– it was actually a recreational canopy, made for picnics and family reunions, not torrential downpours and hurricane-force winds (that second picture up there shows the “gutter” system we had to rig up to keep it from leaking all over the table). I learned my lesson that year: don’t be a cheapskate, but since 2008 I’ve successful avoided having to actually invest in a tent. This year, though, I think the time has finally come. So, if you have suggestions for what to buy and, even better, what to avoid, please send them my way. The summer of the tent purchase is fast approaching.

2. Make a new banner.

A good banner is another craft fair investment whose time has probably come. My hand-stitched red and yellow number is cute and DIY, sure, but probably just about ready for retirement. This project may just have to wait until I finish To Do Number 3, though–

3. Rebrand.

Pictured is the very first batch of business cards I had made up. Not too bad for a first go, right? I’m pretty sure I laid these out using Microsoft Publisher, most likely during downtime at work since I didn’t even have my own computer at that point. Can you believe that– running an online business and not even owning a computer? Crazy kid

At any rate, I’ve been in talks with a good friend of mine to help with a big rebranding project I want to tackle this year. I’ve done everything myself up until now, but I feel like some of that design work could be better done by someone who does it as their specialy. My specialty is felt, not necessarily being the savviest designer, so I’m really excited to see what she comes up with. Stay tuned for those developments in the coming months!

So there you have it, folks. It looks like I’ve got a busy summer ahead of me.

But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

