Orange is the New Black

Too many dudes. This is a trend I’ve noticed in my puppet offerings. Given my particular politics, it seems ironic that my collection would be overwhelmed with puppets of men. All excellent characters and human beings, sure, but guys nonetheless. (I take this as a sad reminder of the lack of great women characters in most of pop culture.) Given this, I’m always on the lookout for great women characters to translate into felt and when I accepted into this year’s Plush You show, I knew it was the perfect opportunity to stretch and try out some lady characters I hadn’t had an opportunity to make before. Then this summer, as a certain show seemed to take over so much of the cultural zeitgeist, it hit me: Orange is the New Black. And with that I present my newest collection of kickass lady (and one dude) puppets:

I’m super proud of how these turned out. With such a wealth of strong and awesome characters to choose from, it was actually really difficult to narrow it down to a reasonable number. I would’ve loved to make Nicky or Daya or Taystee puppets, too, but I think that these six are pretty awesome as it is.

If you’re in the market for your very own OITNB set, they’ll be for sale as part of Plush You at Schmancy in Seattle. And if you’re in the area, definitely check out the show itself– there are a number of amazing plush artists included this year!

2 thoughts on “Orange is the New Black

  1. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review |

  2. Pingback: East Coast Meets West Coast: Grey Gardens and Plush You |

Leave a Reply

