In the Studio: February

Recovering from the crazy/awesome holiday season, I spent a decent chunk of my time in the studio last month playing around with stuff I hadn’t tried in quite a while– digging out paints that hadn’t been touched in years and illustrating on the computer (which proved frustrating, given the stopgap external monitor I currently have set up with my ailing laptop). So far I don’t really have anything finished to share, but it was a good exercise in stretching creative muscles that hadn’t been used in a while.

The internet is full of a zillion creative workspace beauty shots and I don’t know about you, but it’s hard for me to imagine anyone actually getting anything done with everything in place. The photos are beautiful, sure, but partly as an counter to that (and partly because my studio is so rarely anything but messy, let’s be honest) I’m sharing what my work table actually looks like right now: a million bottles of craft paint, used palettes, dirty paint water, half-finished puppets, lists and notes and shipping supplies. It’s not glamourous, but to me this says “jump in and make something” more than a sparkly clean tabletop ever will.

Harold and Maude are one of my oldest puppet designs (check out these photos from their first sale back in 2007!). Even after making them for years, it’s still always a challenge to make a pair that matches in size. Usually I can get a majority that work together out of a batch of 4 or 6 of each, but sometimes I end up with orphan too-big Maudes and too-small Harolds that have to wait for the next batch to find a mate. It’s the challenge of making things that are less than four inches tall– the margin of error is pretty teeny.I still haven’t put anything up on the walls of the studio since I painted last summer. The big expanse of aqua wall is just so lovely, I’m paralyzed with the idea of messing it up. One of these days I’ll get inspired and finally get out the hammer and nails, but in the meantime this Amos Paul Kennedy print and the vintage calendars I picked up at the Uncle Fun closing sale are hanging out on the dresser.These are drawers are from the salvaged hardware store display that holds my collection of embroidery floss (a view of it was featured in another post on my studio space). Normally you can only see a bit of the color peeking through the front, but when I refill them it’s always fun to see the rainbow of colored skeins all laid out. It was a lucky break that these drawers built for screws and nails just so happen to fit the length of floss perfectly.

2 thoughts on “In the Studio: February

  1. Pingback: Christy’s Weekly Roundup, Feb 22 | Indie Craft Experience

  2. Pingback: Fresh Paint |

Leave a Reply

