Prep Work

My first show of the year is coming up in a few weeks, so studio time is now all about prep and getting things ready. Now that shows are fewer and farther between, sometimes I forget how much work goes into getting ready. Like this time, I totally spaced how close the event was up until a week ago. Whoops!

Most of the year I’m concentrating on the pop culture character puppets, but for craft fairs I like to offer the simpler animal and monsters, too. They’re less expensive and kids, obviously, totally dig them. Many a kiddo has shown up at my table eyeing a puppet monkey and not sure how much change she’ll get back from her $10 allowance money.

May Studio

Though I say it every year, I’m also planning on debuting a couple of event-specific designs for Handicraft Exchange. Here’s a sneak peek that probably means nothing right now, but will eventually be familiar to any Hoosier worth her stuff.

Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 2.33.45 PM Though it looks like Annie, it totally isn’t, I promise. Stay tuned ; )

Leave a Reply

