Stuff I Love Right Now

1. True Detective

It’s true that I have very little tolerance for “man” entertainment. A bunch of men talking to other men about men things, it just doesn’t interest me (See Betchdel test). And I have even less patience for the cult of cop shows built around women’s suffering. That said, I found myself totally enamoured with True Detectie. Probably because the actual police case was so secondary to the plot– I just wanted to watch those two guys talk for hours. It’s rare that characters that complex and fully-realized come on screen, man, woman or otherwise. I vote for more of that (and though I did read that Jessica Chastain will not be in season two, here’s hoping for some ladies on rescuer side of the badge this time).

2. My friend Jaime’s work in progress photos

Screen shot 2014-06-23 at 8.27.56 PM

I’ve written about my friend Jaime Rovenstine‘s work before. Her painting output never ceases to amaze me, and lately I’ve been totally inspired by the work-in-progress shots she’s been posting on Instagram. While it’s nearly always impossible to really explain how it is that a person makes a piece of art, it’s sure if fascinating to watch the process unfold in front of you.

3. Tile floors

These days my Pinterest feed seems to be full of people posting dreamy tile floors. And there’s nothing better than cool ceramic under your feet on a hot day. Not that we have any tile in our house (no, we get nearly wall-to-wall poo brown vinyl) but a gal can dream.

4. Watermelon Juice

Screen shot 2014-06-23 at 8.51.16 PM

I am currently obsessed with drinking watermelon. There are recipes out there for watermelon agua fresca with, you know, ingredients. Me, I just blend up a whole watermelon, pour into a pitcher and drink all week. For the kiddo I add some chia seeds to thicken it (means he’s drink it more slowly and spill less, plus nutrition). And you can spike it with ginger ale or vodka in the evening. Totally perfect summer beverage.

One thought on “Stuff I Love Right Now

Leave a Reply

