4 Chair Makeovers

Everybody’s got the thing that they have way too many of in their house, and for me that thing is chairs. I don’t know how it’s happened over the years, but we have seating for twenty in our house. You’d think we threw parties all the time, but really it’s that I have a soft spot for chairs.

Given my inability to pass a chair in the alley without bringing it home (“Yes, I see that it’s broken and water damaged and covered in mud, but look at those bones!”), I tend to also get swept up in the plethora of chair makeover ideas out there in internet land. Got a chair weakness of you own? Here are my five favorite chair makeover project ideas–

1. Wool Blanket ReupholsteryI love that this project blends two totally classic, midcentury looks– a Pendleton blanket and white Burke chair. Sometimes the “reupholster with this gimmicky thing” projects are annoying, but the blanket has such a graphic look to it, it’s almost hard to place what it was originally, and the rounded lines of the chair are a fun contrast to the horizontal stripes.

2. Folding Chair FaceliftThe painted folding chair phenomenon is all over the internet. Though I generally try to avoid projects that rely on spray paint, a friend of mine painted a handful of folding chairs when she got married last summer, sprinkling them throughout the rest of the seating for a super cute effect. It was sweet and simple, and now her guests have a happy place to rest their rears during the holidays.

3. DIY Woven Chair I love the heck out of this project. I have such a weakness for aluminum patio chairs, and even though we have four of our own, it’s hard to pass them up. Now whenever I see a ratty one with a still-good frame, I just know the image of this woven little beauty is going to dance through my head.

4. DIY ReupholsteryTrue, we should all be so lucky to find a chair with a shape this great (and for $10 at the thrift store!), but I like that this post walks you through the steps of adding new batting, a process that even with my love of all things seatin, I find I’m irrationally afraid to try.

 

Leave a Reply

